Thankful for Sleep Deprivation

November 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

_MG_4574

© Marielle Mondon 2012

I went home last Wednesday for the Thanksgiving holiday, only to discover all my lofty ambitions of “working ahead” and “writing” were null. I did not open a book until Sunday, did not touch my journal until returning yesterday, and even the two sentences I wrote were born of several mentally brutal attempts.

It was a really great, seemingly busy, break, however. After stuffing myself with wine, bread, and cheese (that’s a French-American girl’s version of Thanksgiving appetizers, I guess), then the actual Thanksgiving “dinner” that begins around 3 p.m., then several pieces of the six pies present, a bunch of us went for a walk and found the gorgeous campus that I didn’t know existed at American College.

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

Black Friday I avoided shopping but saw the amazing monstrosity that is Breaking Dawn, so that happened. I regret nothing. Saturday I went to a huge barn in West Chester that functions as a cozy, creaky used bookstore, snagging a copy of Jeffrey Eugenide’s The Marriage Plot on hardback for ten bucks. Yes, it’s like .00045 cents on kindle/nook/insert-Jetsons-era-reading-device-here, but after all, it was small business Saturday. Wow, both Twilight and the name drop of Pulitzer Prize winner in the same graph. Sure, I’ll take it.

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

Then I preceded to eat more. Sunday was spent doing family visits and watching Love Actually, distractedly saying every line to Will while “working” on my laptop.

Regardless, here I am. Back at school. Writing and stuff.

Lots in the works (like, an overwhelming amount…), but for today here is the latest piece I worked on with a classmate. We each reported and edited the audio slideshow and I wrote the accompanying text. The piece is about an after-school program that teaches instruments to young students whose schools aren’t able to offer music classes.

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

http://bit.ly/WtZ4PS

In the next three weeks I will be finishing up a photo essay about the Occupy Sandy relief effort, a video project about a fitness class in Fort Tryon Park, and many other things I don’t currently have the mental capacity to think about in great detail. And very soon my undergraduate creative writing thesis, “Cup Rings,” will be published by the good Canadian folks at Found Press. More details as all of these things start rolling in.

In the meantime, I will dream of what awaits me during winter vacation:

© Marielle Mondon 2012

© Marielle Mondon 2012

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thankful for Sleep Deprivation at Marielle Mondon.

meta

